To Kill A Mockingbird

To Kill A Mockingbird

To Kill A Mockingbird is a 1960 novel by Harper Lee. Classic! (:

To Kill A Mockingbird is a great book. It’s a wonderfully written literature with solid plot and appealing characters. The story has humor and compassion, it showcased love and kindness as well as contempt and cruelty and fairness and injustice. I honestly disagree to confine the story’s concentration on racism because there’s so much more to be recognized in the plot like childhood adventures, family, dignity, empathy, etc. It’s a hard-to-put-down novel. The story is moving and motivating. I think everybody should read it!

5

to kill a mockingbird1962. Directed by Robert Mulligan.

I watched the movie immediately after I finished reading the book because I challenged myself to point out the differences if there are any. And though those differences appeared to be very apparent, I was glad it didn’t deflect the whole story, I mean the core was still intact despite changes. The movie concentrated more on the trial (Tom Robinson’s) and Atticus Finch being a moral hero and I don’t have any complaints about that whatsoever. Gregory Peck would always be Atticus Finch to me, I just can’t imagine another face as Atticus.

4

.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee is now definitely one of my favorites! There’s just something very likeable about it, as if everything I’d want and need in a book is in it. The movie, however different from the book is still a good one. It’s worthwhile and decent. Scout and Jem Finch would always be dear characters to me. I’d like to think that somewhere out there is an Atticus Finch who’s a cool and wise father and a man of integrity. He’s sorta one of my heroes now. (:

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”
Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

“Atticus said to Jem one day, “I’d rather you shot at tin cans in the backyard, but I know you’ll go after birds. Shoot all the blue jays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” That was the only time I ever heard Atticus say it was a sin to do something, and I asked Miss Maudie about it. “Your father’s right,” she said. “Mockingbirds don’t do one thing except make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corn cribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”
― Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

To Kill A Mockingbird

One thought on “To Kill A Mockingbird

  1. I agree – Atticus is cool!

    I first read this book years ago, or rather I was told to read it for English Lit. I hated it, because, a) I was 15 years old, b) I was clueless and c) I was something of a white working class bigot, though I didn’t know it. Happy to say that my English teacher Mrs Baxendale was right about Atticus, and about Dylan Thomas and many, many other things.
    Thanks, Mrs B. Where ever you are.

Leave a comment